Can you scan an ID in Mississippi?
Mississippi law does not regulate a business’s practice of scanning IDs or retaining information obtained from a scan.
Overview of Mississippi ID Scanning Laws
In the absence of any statute governing issues associated with a business’s practice of scanning IDs, a business is likely allowed to scan IDs and to retain information obtained from a scan, subject to applicable privacy laws.
Does Mississippi offer affirmative defense for ID scanning?
Any person under the age of twenty-one (21) who knowingly makes a false statement to the effect that he or she is twenty-one (21) years old or older or presents any document that indicates he or she is twenty-one (21) years of age or older for the purpose of purchasing alcoholic beverages from any person engaged in the sale of alcoholic beverages shall be guilty of a misdemeanor and shall be punished by a fine of not less than Two Hundred Dollars ($ 200.00) nor more than Five Hundred Dollars ($ 500.00), and a sentence to not more than thirty (30) days’ community service.
SECTION 5. Age verification. Before distributing any tobacco product, the distributor must verify that the recipient is at least twenty-one (21) years of age. Each distributor shall examine the recipient’s government-issued photographic identification. No such verification is required for a person over the age of thirty (30). The fact that a recipient appeared to be thirty (30) years of age or older does not constitute a defense to a violation of this section.
Mississippi House Bill 73. Prohibition of Using Embedded Technology in Self-Checkout Terminals to Scan IDs
This bill would prohibit certain retailers and establishments from using embedded technology programs in self-checkout terminals or self-service checkouts to scan information on a consumer’s driver’s license in order to verify the age of the person trying to purchase certain items. It would require the age verification to be performed by an employee of the establishment in order to complete the purchase.
AN ACT TO AMEND SECTION 63-21-39, MISSISSIPPI CODE OF 1972, TO REVISE THE PROVISIONS OF THE AFFIDAVIT FORM REQUIRED TO BE FILED WITH THE DEPARTMENT OF REVENUE WHEN CANCELLING A CERTIFICATE OF TITLE FOR SCRAP MOTOR VEHICLES WHEN THE CERTIFICATE OF TITLE IS NOT AVAILABLE; TO REQUIRE THAT WITHIN TWO BUSINESS DAYS OF EACH DAY’S CLOSE OF BUSINESS, THE USED MOTOR VEHICLE PARTS DEALER OR SCRAP METAL PROCESSOR WHO PURCHASES OR RECEIVES MOTOR VEHICLES FOR SCRAP OR FOR PARTS SHALL DELIVER IN A FORMAT APPROVED BY THE DEPARTMENT A LIST OF ALL SUCH VEHICLES PURCHASED THAT DAY FOR SCRAP OR FOR PARTS; TO REVISE THE DEFINITION OF “MOTOR VEHICLE” FOR THE PURPOSES OF THIS ACT; TO PROVIDE THAT WHEN A USED MOTOR VEHICLE PARTS DEALER OR SCRAP METAL PROCESSOR PURCHASES OR RECEIVES A CRUSHED OR FLATTENED VEHICLE, THAT DEALER OR PROCESSOR MUST VERIFY THAT THE SELLER HAS REPORTED THE VEHICLE AS REQUIRED BY THIS ACT; TO MAKE IT A CRIMINAL OFFENSE TO KNOWINGLY FALSIFY ANY INFORMATION ON THE AFFIDAVIT FORM PROVIDED BY THIS ACT; TO AUTHORIZE THE DEPARTMENT OF PUBLIC SAFETY TO CHARGE A FEE FOR ANY VEHICLE IDENTIFICATION NUMBER VERIFICATION REQUIRED BY FEDERAL LAW OR REGULATION ON A VEHICLE WITH A SALVAGE CERTIFICATE OF TITLE FOR WHICH A PERSON APPLIES FOR A CLEAR TITLE OR BRANDED TITLE; TO AUTHORIZE THE SEIZURE AND FORFEITURE OF ANY MOTOR VEHICLE, TRAILER OR SIMILAR CONVEYANCE USED TO TRANSPORT ANOTHER MOTOR VEHICLE OR CRUSHED MOTOR VEHICLE SOLD IN VIOLATION OF THIS SECTION; AND FOR RELATED PURPOSES.