Driver’s License Renewal Change in Hawaii
Beginning on THursday, Hawaii residents must show two documents that prove their residency in order to obtain a Hawaii driver’s license or state ID card.
The documents must include the applicant’s name, address, and proof of residency. Eligible documents include their current driver’s license, vehicle registration or title, voter registration card, or other mail from a government or medical entity. These documents must be recent and cannot be more than two years old. Other options include a utility bill, a checking or savings account statement, and a payroll check or stub.
This changes are an attempt by Hawaii to be more compliant with the Real ID Act of 2005. The fee for a state ID on Kauai will also increase from $4 to $32 and will be valid for up to 8 years.
To read the full story, please visit the Garden Island website.