Kansas ID Scanning Laws & Regulations
Can you scan an ID in Kansas?
Kansas law does not regulate a business’s practice of scanning IDs or retaining information obtained from a scan.
Overview of Kansas ID Scanning Laws
In the absence of any statute governing issues associated with a business’s practice of scanning IDs, a business is likely allowed to scan IDs and to retain information obtained from a scan, subject to applicable privacy laws.
Does Kansas offer affirmative defense for ID scanning?
Kansas does not offer affirmative defense specifically related to ID scanning.
Kansas Statute 21-5607. Furnishing alcoholic liquor or cereal malt beverage to a minor; furnishing alcoholic beverage to a minor for illicit purposes.
(f) It shall be a defense to a prosecution under subsection (a) if:
(1) The defendant is a licensed retailer, club, drinking establishment or caterer or holds a temporary permit, or an employee thereof;
(2) the defendant sold the alcoholic liquor or cereal malt beverage to the minor with reasonable cause to believe that the minor was 21 or more years of age or of legal age for the consumption of alcoholic liquor or cereal malt beverage; and
(3) to purchase the alcoholic liquor or cereal malt beverage, the person exhibited to the defendant a driver’s license, Kansas nondriver’s identification card or other official or apparently official document, that reasonably appears to contain a photograph of the minor and purporting to establish that such minor was 21 or more years of age or of legal age for the consumption of alcoholic liquor or cereal malt beverage.
Kansas Statute 79-3322. Cigarettes and tobacco products.
(2) It shall be a defense to a prosecution under this subsection if: (A) The defendant is a licensed retail dealer, or employee thereof, or a person authorized by law to distribute samples; (B) the defendant sold, furnished or distributed the cigarettes or tobacco products to the person under 18 years of age with reasonable cause to believe the person was of legal age to purchase or receive cigarettes or tobacco products; and (C) to purchase or receive the cigarettes or tobacco products, the person under 18 years of age exhibited to the defendant a driver’s license, Kansas nondriver’s identification card or other official or apparently official document containing a photograph of the person and purporting to establish that the person was of legal age to purchase or receive cigarettes or tobacco products.
Kansas Statute 50-669a. 50-669a. Prohibiting the taking of personal information when using a credit card.
(a) No person, firm, partnership, association or corporation which accepts credit cards for the transaction of business shall require the cardholder, as a condition to accepting the credit card, to:
(1) Write any personal identification information upon the credit card transaction form or otherwise; or
(2) provide personal identification information, which the person, firm, partnership, association or corporation accepting the credit card writes, causes to be written, or otherwise records upon the credit card transaction form or otherwise.
(b) For purposes of this section, “personal identification information” means information concerning the cardholder, other than information set forth on the credit card, and including, but not limited to, the cardholder’s address and telephone number.
(c) Subsection (a) does not apply to personal identification information, required by the card issuer to complete the credit card transaction or for a special purpose incidental but related to the individual credit card transaction, including, but not limited to, information relating to shipping, delivery, servicing or installation of the purchased merchandise or for special orders.
(d) Violation of this section shall be deemed an unconscionable act as defined by K.S.A. 50-627, and amendments thereto.
(e) This section shall be a part of and supplemental to the Kansas consumer protection act.
History: L. 1992, ch. 144, § 1; July 1.
Kansas Statute 50-621. Junk dealer prohibited from purchasing items of junk without receiving from seller information as to ownership; record of ownership
It shall be unlawful for any such junk dealer to purchase any item or items of junk after the effective date of this act without demanding and receiving from the seller thereof information as to ownership. Every junk dealer shall file and maintain a record of ownership of items purchased pursuant to any transaction described in K.S.A. 50-620. All records kept in accordance with the provisions of this act shall be open at all times to peace and police officers, except as otherwise prescribed by the city ordinances regulating the activities of junk dealers and shall be kept for two (2) years.